13 Laws You Should Know If You're In Georgia
The famous southern state of Georgia is home to about 3,936,270 people with millions flocking yearly to visit popular tourist attractions.
The Peach State is home to boiled peanuts, Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport, and Coca-Cola. With so much to see and do in the vast state of Georgia, there are bound to be accidents resulting in personal injury.
So whether you are settling down in Savannah or touring Stone Mountain, getting a grasp on these 14 laws will better prepare you in case you become suddenly stuck in a jam.
- Using your mobile device while driving- Four years ago, the state of Georgia attempted to ban texting while driving, despite efforts, adults can still freely use their cell phones while driving. Related article, 5-Common Causes of Distracted Driving
- Married couples filing for divorce- Georgia state laws follow “no-fault” divorce, meaning you do not need to catch your partner committing adultery to break it off. However, at least one spouse must have inhabited in Georgia for at least six months.
- Personal Injury: Who’s fault? - When deciding liability after an accident, Georgia has a form of modified comparative fault. Unless the plaintiff is 50 percent or more at the blame, each party only pays for what percent responsibility he or she is assigned.
- DUI Threshold-If drivers choose to get behind the wheel and have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or above in Georgia; drivers are considered intoxicated and legally unable to operate a motor vehicle. Under 21? That brink drops to 0.02 percent.
- Will Necessities- Georgia laws are somewhat uncommon in allowing testators who are 14 years of age to make a will legally, as opposed to the more standard 18-year mark.
- The Statute of Limitations- Individuals wishing to sue in Georgia should be aware of the time limit on individual lawsuits. For instance, you may have up to 6 years to sue for over contract issues, but you must sue within one year for defamation.
- Gun Regulations- In the state of Georgia, the law disallows most open carrying of a gun without a permit, and weapons like sawed-off shotguns are just plain illegal.
- When Minors Are Considered Adults-Even though you are allowed to create a will at the age of 14, children are not determined legal adults until they turn 18 years old.
- Marital Property Division-The Goober State does not recognize community property. That means if you do not possess an agreement like a prenup, a court may conclude what is “fair” to distribute to each spouse upon divorce.
- Gambling- While Georgia does not permit casinos, the state's lottery does allow many in-state students to go to Georgia’s state universities for free.
- Punitive Damages- In Georgia, punitive damages are limited to $250, 000 with certain exceptions, such as products liability or significant alcohol or drug impairment cases. Also, a portion of punitive damages is awarded to the state.
- Work Place Injuries- If you are injured at work (including occupational diseases,) you have 30 days to report the accident to your employer. If you fail to do so, you could risk losing your workers’ compensation benefits. In most cases, your employer will provide the appropriate paperwork to file a workers’ compensation claim in Georgia.
- Automobile Collisions- The state of Georgia follows a “fault” system when it comes to issues like liability and insurance coverage after a car wreck. This means the driver who is determined at-fault is responsible for any personal injury or property damage resulting from an accident, and the driver’s insurance policy will be looked at first to satisfy this liability.
If you were involved in an accident or suffered injuries, contact a personal injury lawyer in Georgia today.
An attorney can help you properly file a claim, protect your rights, and help you gain the maximum compensation for your suffering.
Click Below for a free consultation to discuss the details of your accident injury today!