How Much Auto Insurance Do I Need In Georgia?
It's unfortunate that in the state of Georgia many drivers who cause accidents don't have the proper insurance to cover your medical expenses and time off work.
Learn how you can protect yourself against negligent drivers and how much coverage drivers in Georgia are required to carry.
Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements By Georgia Law
In the state of Georgia, vehicle owners are expected to carry liability insurance. The minimum liability coverage a driver must carry in Georgia is:
- Injury/Death of one person; including yourself, a passenger, another driver, pedestrian, etc.—$25,000
- Injury/ Death of more than one person per accident--$50,000
- Property Damage--$25,000
Remember these are only minimum requirements of coverage required by Georgia Law, it is usually wise to add on additional coverage to your auto policy. If you are found at fault in a car accident and the damages surpass the limits on your policy, then you can be held financially responsible for the difference.
On the other hand, if you are caught driving without insurance in the state of Georgia you could face serious penalties depending on the circumstances. Uninsured drivers face fines, jail time, as well as losing your driving privileges and registration.
Furthermore, operating a vehicle with a suspended registration in Georgia is considered a misdemeanor—that can damage both your record and how much you pay to insure your car.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists in The State of Georgia
UIM coverage is intended to protect you if you are hit by a driver that either does not have insurance or does not have enough insurance to cover the damages caused by the car accident. In fact, The National Association of Insurance Commissioners reports that 12.6 percent or one in eight drivers are uninsured and operating vehicles on roadways every day.
Even though residents of Georgia are not required to carry UIM insurance, it is an available feature many drivers can use to protect themselves from both underinsured and uninsured drivers. While some vehicle operators may not carry insurance, others purchase only the minimum coverage required by law, which in some state isn’t much. For example, if a driver with low coverage limits causes you serious injuries it is possible that the available insurance benefit won’t pay all your medical expenses.
Excess Vs. Reduction Coverage
One disparity involving UIM coverage and Georgia Law is the state subdivides UIM coverage into two categories: “reduction” coverage and “excess” coverage. Under reduction coverage or “difference in limits,” uninsured motorist coverage, the insurance of the driver who caused the wreck is subtracted from your UM/UIM coverage. Let’s say the at-fault driver has $25,000 in insurance. You have “reducing” UM/UIM coverage of $150,000, You have $125,000 in UM/UIM coverage available to you because $150,000 - $ 25,000 = $ 125,000. This means the maximum amount of insurance available to you is $ 150,000: the at-fault driver’s $25,000 in insurance and your $125,000 in UM/UIM coverage.
By contrast, if you have “Add-on” or “excess” coverage stacks on top of the driver’s coverage who caused the wreck. For example, if the at-fault driver has $25,000 in insurance and you have “add-on” coverage of $100,000, you have a total of $125,000 of insurance available.
The type of UIM Coverage you carry can significantly influence the resolution of a potential injury claim if you are unsure of your policies coverage it is wise to consult with your insurance provider to ensure your fully protected while operating your vehicle.
Insurance Status in Georgia
In Georgia, your insurance company should provide a report regarding your insurance status to the Georgia Electronic Insurance Compliance System (GEICS). Following, GEICS informs the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) when, and whether your insurance status changes. Also, Georgia drivers must carry insurer-issued policy information card with them always while driving.
If you were injured in a car accident by a negligent driver, you might have a valid personal injury claim.
Our Georgia Personal Injury Lawyers specialize in car accidents and personal injuries; we can help you gain financial compensation and protect your rights. Click Below for a no-risk free consultation with one of our Car Accident Specialists so we can learn the details of your claim and how to best serve your particular needs.